future become associated with the flying squadrons in an emergency role. Disbandment of the 14 aircraft control and warning squadrons commenced in February 1961 and will be completed in January 1962.

The Primary Reserve is concerned mainly with the training of members of the University Reserve Training Plan (URTP). Other Primary Reserve components are Air Cadet Officers (ACO) and the Manning Support Officers (MSO). The Reserve Tradesmen Training Plan, which was formerly a part of the Primary Reserve, was discontinued during 1960 and all future training for Auxiliary squadrons and units will be carried out by the technical training units.

During the year ended Mar. 31, 1961, an officer's training course was conducted at the Reserve Officer School (ROS), St. Jean, Que., for some 300 first-year URTP university undergraduates. Following this initial training, non-flying list cadets commenced basic training courses in aeronautical engineering, telecommunications, armament, supply and accounts while others in the medical, air services and personnel lists were employed at Regular Force units on contact training. Second-year and third-year flight cadets continued with their formal or contact training commenced in previous years.

Royal Canadian Air Cadets.—Air Cadet activities in Canada are sponsored and administered by the Air Cadet League of Canada. The League is a voluntary civilian organization formed in 1940 to provide preliminary aviation training for potential members of the Royal Canadian Air Force. The peacetime objective of air cadet training is to give basic training in aviation and other closely associated subjects as well as citizenship training which will better fit Canadian youth for careers in civilian or Service life. The RCAF works in partnership with the League and provides training personnel, syllabi and equipment.

The authorized ceiling of cadet enrolment is 25,500 and the strength at Jan. 31, 1961 was approximately 24,500, attached to 332 squadrons across Canada. Air Cadet training is carried out in more than 270 communities from Newfoundland to British Columbia. During the summer of 1960, camps were held at RCAF Stations at Summerside, P.E.I., St. Jean, Que., Trenton, Ont., and Sea Island, B.C., attended by about 6,000 cadets together with officers and instructors. A seven-week course for senior leaders and drill instructors was held for 200 cadets at RCAF Station, Camp Borden, Ont.

Under the International Exchange Visits Program for 1960, sponsored jointly by the RCAF and the Air Cadet League, 58 cadets were exchanged with the United Kingdom, the United States, Denmark, the Netherlands, Norway and Sweden.

About 250 senior air cadets receive flying training annually at flying clubs through scholarships provided by the RCAF and additional scholarships are awarded by the Air Cadet League and other organizations which in 1960 numbered 109.

## Subsection 4.—The Defence Research Board

The Defence Research Board was established on Apr. 1, 1947 by an amendment to the National Defence Act. The Board consists of a full-time chairman and vice-chairman, five ex officio members and nine other appointed members. The ex officio members are the Chiefs of Staff of the three Armed Services, the Deputy Minister of National Defence and the President of the National Research Council. The other members, appointed by the Governor in Council for three-year terms, are selected from universities and industry because of their scientific and technical backgrounds.

The organization consists of headquarters staff, an operational research group and nine field research stations, and liaison offices at London, England, and Washington, U.S.A. Advisory committees composed of leading Canadian scientists provide invaluable assistance to the Board by their consideration of a variety of problems.